Lord Mayor Adrian Schrinner has set the pathway for the next four years unveiling his refreshed Civic Cabinet that will be focused on bringing Brisbane through the coronavirus crisis.

The Lord Mayor has announced several changes to Cabinet, including new faces, new titles and responsibilities to ensure it is in the best position to lead Brisbane through these challenging times.

“With coronavirus seriously impacting Brisbane and its economy right now it is so important to have a strong team of leaders and I believe that is what my Civic Cabinet represents,” Cr Schrinner said.

“In addition to my title as Lord Mayor I will be taking on new roles as City Treasurer and the Chair of the Budget Committee.

“As a result of coronavirus, we are facing economic impacts that could last years, and I am standing by my commitment to lead every single resident through this crisis and chairing the Budget Committee is a key part of this.

“Further, I will be introducing an Economic Recovery Taskforce that will fall under the Finance Committee.

“This specialised taskforce is a crucial measure which I expect will be in place for several years to manage the rebuilding of Brisbane’s economy and help businesses get back on their feet following this crisis

“A key part of ensuring we get through this economic crisis is ensuring we get the budget right and this my top priority right now.”

Cr Schrinner said his team has a wealth of experience and ideas to keep Brisbane heading in the right direction.

“This refreshed civic cabinet will keep Brisbane’s economy stable, deliver projects and create jobs and continue to build on the vision I announced on day one as Lord Mayor to create a city that is clean, green and accessible,” he said.

“I welcome Councillors Fiona Cunningham (Coorparoo), Kim Marx (Runcorn) and Ryan Murphy (Chandler) to their new positions in Cabinet and welcome back Councillors Krista Adams (Holland Park), Adam Allan (Northgate), Vicki Howard (Central) and David McLachlan (Hamilton) to the Civic Cabinet team.

“This Civic Cabinet represent the right mix of experience and renewal, and the right mix of talent to help us meet the challenges we confront now, and those that will arise as we work towards recovery.

“There is fantastic talent in this team and every single person has been awarded their position on merit.

“I am proud that women not only make up 50 per cent of Civic Cabinet but also 50 per cent of the LNP’s elected Councillors.

“Having the right team during this crucial time is key and I have great confidence in the 10 women and 9 men who will join me in delivering responsibly for Brisbane residents to ensure the Brisbane of tomorrow is better than the Brisbane of today.”

Cr Schrinner said as part of his renewed team he welcomed newly elected representatives Greg Adermann (Pullenvale) and Sarah Hutton (Jamboree) to the team.

“Mr Adermann will be an excellent representative for the residents of Pullenvale Ward, he has lived in the area for 28 years and is ready to hit the ground running and continue to build on his existing connections with the community,” he said.

“Mrs Hutton has lived her whole life in the Jamboree Ward and is passionate about being a strong advocate for her community and continue to deliver for residents, just as former Councillor Matthew Bourke did.”

Cr Andrew Wines will continue in his position as Chair of Council, a position he has held since April 2019. Cr Wines was first elected as a Councillor in 2008.

Lord Mayor Adrian Schrinner’s Civic Cabinet team includes:

  • Lord Mayor, City Treasurer and Budget Committee Chair Adrian Schrinner
  • Deputy Mayor and City Planning and Economic Development Chair Krista Adams
  • Finance, Administration and Small Business Chair (including the Economic Recovery Taskforce) Adam Allan
  • Infrastructure Chair David McLachlan
  • Environment, Parks & Sustainability Chair Fiona Cunningham
  • City Standards, Community Health and Safety Chair Kim Marx
  • Community, Arts and Nighttime Economy Chair Vicki Howard
  • Public & Active Transport Chair Ryan Murphy