Ordinary Brisbane residents doing extraordinary things for the community have been recognised at the 2020 Lord Mayor’s Australia Day Awards

Lord Mayor Adrian Schrinner said the awards honoured local volunteers doing outstanding work to improve the lives of people in the community, from mentoring youth to coaching Special Olympics sports

“Australia Day is a time to come together to celebrate our fantastic country and part of what makes Australia so great is the giving spirit of people,” Cr Schrinner said

“The Australia Day awards celebrate Brisbane’s local heroes across a range of categories including Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year and Senior Citizen of the Year

“We recognised 15 people for their contributions to Brisbane including for improving our natural environment, working with children, the elderly and people with a disability and helping those less fortunate

“These are the unsung heroes who go about their voluntary roles for the love of it and are humbly unaware of the legacy they’ve created for others.

Cr Schrinner said 2020 Citizen of the Year recipient Seamus Sullivan was recognised for his positive influence in the community, helping residents going through hardship

“Seamus also provides foster care to children in need and has been instrumental in promoting Irish culture in Brisbane by helping introduce Gaelic football to Queensland nearly 40 years ago,” he said

“It was a pleasure to award Young Citizen of the Year to radio host CodyShaeffeur, who, among a long list of community achievements, formed his own youth camp to help young people in Brisbane

“Age proved no barrier for Gerald Dunford, who at 87, was awarded the Green Heart award for his tireless efforts to help keep Brisbane clean and green through creek and forest rehabilitation.

Cr Schrinner said Brisbane City Council received an overwhelming number of worthy nominees, demonstrating the noble community spirit of local residents.

“I would like to thank everyone who took the time to nominate their neighbours and colleagues for these prestigious awards,” he said.

“As a community, it is important that we continue to recognise and show our support for those who are helping make the Brisbane of tomorrow even better than the Brisbane of today.”

2020 Lord Mayor’s Australia Day Awards winners:

  • Citizen of the Year: Seamus Sullivan, Greenslopes
  • Young Citizen of the Year: Cody Schaeffer, Fortitude Valley
  • Senior Citizen of the Year: Paul Dickie, Sunnybank
  • Sports Award: Jeffrey Stewart, The Gap
  • Cultural/Arts Award: Harmony Woollett, Chapel Hill
  • Green Heart Award: Gerald Dunford, The Gap
  • Community Event of the Year:  Jacaranda Festival, Fig Tree Pocket
  • Achievement Awards:
    • Janelle Bodman, Fig Tree Pocket
    • John Child, Durack
    • Marie D’Alton, Auchenflower
    • Peter and Peta Davis, Brookfield
    • James Devereaux, Fig Tree Pocket
    • Brien Hands, Coorparoo
    • Jennifer Maguire, Runcorn
    • Viet Tran OAM, River Hills