Brisbane photographers have shared their views of Brisbane from behind the camera lens, with a record 2,300 submissions to Brisbane City Council for the 2018 Lord Mayor’s Photographic Awards.

Lord Mayor Graham Quirk today announced winners across three categories and launched online voting for the People’s Choice Award.

“We asked photographers of all ages and abilities to share their views of Brisbane – from the city’s unique characteristics and hidden gems to local features, with more than 2,300 creative insights into our city entered in the competition,” Cr Quirk said.

“Brisbane is a great place to live, work and relax, and we wanted people to have the chance to share what they love about our city through photography.

“The calibre for entries continues to exceed expectations each year and the response from our inaugural social media category has been enormous, with 1,900 entries submitted through Instagram using the tag #LMPA2018.

“Thank you to all this year’s Lord Mayor’s Photographic Awards entrants and congratulations to the winners of the Open, Student and Social Media categories who will share $12,000 in prize money.”

Cr Quirk said residents could now vote for their favourite images online, with some of the city’s finest photographic talent represented in the People’s Choice Awards category.

“From 2,300 entries in the Open, Student and Instagram categories, 22 photographers have now been shortlisted for the People’s Choice Award where they will compete for the most votes to take home $2,000 in prize money,” he said.

“These pictures have been taken by some of the city’s best creative talents and are all uniquely ‘Brisbane’.

“This competition is a great way to celebrate our expressive, enthusiastic and energetic city and I encourage all residents to head to the Lord Mayor’s Photographic Awards website before September 24 to vote for the photo that best reflects their view of Brisbane.”

The winners of the Open, Student and Social Media categories were:

  • Open Category winner ($5000): Joe Ruckli “Theatre on the Street”
  • Open Category first runner up ($2000): Nigel Wesley “Afternoons”
  • Open Category second runner up ($1000): Jesse Greenwood “River”
  • Student Category ($3000): Ryan Warwick “Starry Night”
  • Social Media Category ($1000): Zanti Jimenez “Fairy Lights”

Voting for the People’s Choice Award closes at 5pm Monday 24 September and can be cast by visiting